Jokowi Officially Inaugurates 5 New Ministers and Deputy Ministers

President Joko Widodo officially inaugurated 5 new ministers and deputy ministers in the Kabinet Indonesia Maju. The list of ministers appointed by Jokowi are Chairman of the National Mandate Party (PAN) Zulkifli Hasan as Minister of Trade replacing Muhammad Luthfi, Former TNI Commander Marshal (Ret.) Hadi Tjahjanto as Minister of Agrarian Affairs replacing Sofyan Djalil, Deputy Minister of Public Works and Public Housing John Wempi Wetipo becomes Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, Secretary General of the Crescent Star Party (PBB) Afriansyah Noor as Deputy Minister of Manpower, and Secretary of the Board of Trustees of the Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI) Raja Juli Antoni as Deputy Minister of Agrarian Affairs replacing his party partner Surya Tjandra.

The issue of a cabinet reshuffle has emerged since PAN joined the government coalition in August 2021. Trade Minister Muhammad Lutfi has been rumored to be sacked for the past few months. He is considered to have failed to deal with the problem of scarcity and soaring cooking oil prices in the country.