European Union Lifts Travel Restrictions for Indonesian Travelers

TEMPO.CO, Jakarta – The European Council of the European Union in a press release on Thursday (18/11) announced that Indonesia was added to the list of countries, special administrative regions, and territorial authorities which are no longer subjected to the European Union’s temporary travel restrictions. 

According to the statement and as stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and may be updated. This is without prejudice to the possibility for member states to lift the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travelers.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as of 18 November 2021 member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong, and Macao.

Under the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognized as states by at least one member state, travel restrictions for Taiwan should also be gradually lifted.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The criteria to determine the third country for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were updated on 20 May 2021. They cover the epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources. Reciprocity should also be taken into account on a case-by-case basis.